Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday February 25, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
New England Subaru Impreza Club
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2001, 12:50 PM   #1
96Lconversion
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3604
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
2008 Infiniti G35S
2005 S2000

Default OT: Can anybody tell me how to add a 2nd hard drive to my computer?

I got a Western Digital 40 gig hard drive for my digital camcorder (can we say hours of kinky movies?) and I was wondering if somone can tell me whats involved in putting this in. I have a CD-ROM and a CD-R drive already, am I gonna have to change their letters or anything? I can't imagine this will be too hard, so anything you guys can tell me would be great. I will not be running anything off this drive, it will just be for storage. Thanks guys.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
96Lconversion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-08-2001, 12:59 PM   #2
JGard
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1904
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2017 Impreza Sport
E36 M3/4/5

Default

just plug it in. Windows will do the rest.
JGard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 01:08 PM   #3
96Lconversion
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3604
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
2008 Infiniti G35S
2005 S2000

Default

Really, I didnt think it would be that simple, I have windows 98 if that makes a difference. I just hope it doesnt cause any damn conflicts, I hate those!!
96Lconversion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 01:09 PM   #4
mad-dog999
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4347
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manch Vegas
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i Wagon
Aspen White

Default

Yup. Find a slot, set the jumpers on both drives to CS (Cable Select) and plug it into the connector. FDISK it to the size you'd like, and format it. Done.
mad-dog999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 03:26 PM   #5
jlyttle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2815
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hanover, MA, USA
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT 5sp
Silver

Default

I personally have had spotty results with CS. I like to force things. Set the current drive to master/single (probably there already, and the new one to slave. This assumes that they are on the same cable. Typically the computer will have two IDE controllers, hopefully the CD is on the second one. It will work if on the same cable as a HD, but will slow down the works. Usually the drive will come with specific install directions.
jlyttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 03:39 PM   #6
JGard
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1904
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2017 Impreza Sport
E36 M3/4/5

Default

yeah, I'd manually set one to Master and one to Slave. I don't believe in that Cable Select stuff
JGard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 03:41 PM   #7
subarurabbit
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4083
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Reading, MA
Vehicle:
2011 OB 3.6R
silver

Default

yeah,

it seems to only work well on HP computers.

Maybe you should an ATA100 card?

Roger
subarurabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 05:05 PM   #8
Giova
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1663
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Haverhill, Ma
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza RS
BRP

Default

yup i never trust that cable select b/s
Giova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 09:22 PM   #9
dirk.gecko
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3141
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: De Pere, WI
Vehicle:
2007 Scion tC
Blue or something

Default

and yes, drive letters will change, tho there's nothing you'll have to do (or can do to change them much). hard drives always get lower letters than cd drives.

derek
dirk.gecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2001, 08:21 AM   #10
mad-dog999
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4347
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manch Vegas
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i Wagon
Aspen White

Default

Heh... well, I haven't used CS much. Whatever works. None of my drives are slaves anymore. At least not to eachother. Heh....
mad-dog999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2001, 08:23 AM   #11
96Lconversion
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3604
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
2008 Infiniti G35S
2005 S2000

Default

guys I put up a new thread, I need help!!
96Lconversion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2001, 08:57 AM   #12
ThinkTank
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6821
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2006 Scion TC
Mica

Default Partition Magic

will help you adjust your applications references to drive letters if you have to change the drive letter of your original drive or move application directories. Be careful with it.
ThinkTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anybody tell me - best way to install fog light covers on my rs brucers25 Interior & Exterior Modification 2 10-10-2009 12:20 AM
How to add pic from hard drive? I click add a pic and I'm prompt to enter text eSToI Loco Off-Topic 61 08-23-2005 11:45 AM
How to add pic from hard drive?? eSToI Loco Newbies & FAQs 3 08-23-2005 06:08 AM
Can anybody tell me how to get Sponsored? AWDball Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 3 12-02-2002 09:29 AM
Can someone tell me how to install my springs? 96Lconversion Brakes, Steering & Suspension 4 06-10-2001 11:05 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.