Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 21, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2014, 10:13 PM   #1251
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
18 Outback
on the road....

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOTinASubaru View Post
I'd like for stereo sources like Youtube to make use of my center speaker vs that channel being empty. Via bitstream my receiver can add audio to empty channels via Dolby PL.



Where could I find that setting? I may have missed it, but if I recall correctly the only device that was an option was my Denon receiver from the pull down list.
On my Win7 system it is under "sounds" "Playback Devices". You can search "Manage Audio Devices"

On my Win 8x system it is under ""Sound" "Playback" you can search "Manage Audio Devices"

Same on my Win10 system.

I am sensing a pattern.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-04-2014, 01:43 AM   #1252
end0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 224418
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal - RSM
Default

Anyone with a Samsung SSD use the Rapid feature? Going to put my 850 pro in tomorrow on a fresh install. Debating enabling it or not.
end0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 01:59 AM   #1253
Jaren1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 195061
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Cool story, Brogue
Vehicle:
1997 \_(ツ)
Green

Default

RAPID will actually hurt performance in many cases. I have mine off.


http://techreport.com/review/25282/a...ng-840-evo-ssd
Jaren1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 08:45 PM   #1254
NOTinASubaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 295494
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Ma
Vehicle:
1996 4runner miata

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcblues View Post
On my Win7 system it is under "sounds" "Playback Devices". You can search "Manage Audio Devices"

On my Win 8x system it is under ""Sound" "Playback" you can search "Manage Audio Devices"

Same on my Win10 system.

I am sensing a pattern.
I cant find where the option is for bitstreaming in the sound manager menu.
NOTinASubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 09:31 AM   #1255
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
18 Outback
on the road....

Default

Do you have a bitstream capable device attached? Like an hdmi television?

Sent from my SM-T310 using NASIOC mobile app
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 09:47 AM   #1256
Traffic Baron
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316645
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Colchester, CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Hatch WRB
'17 RWD Malibu

Default

The stars aligned yesterday and I got to build my new setup with my nephew (he wanted to see what's involved in a PC build). I'm still installing programs and transferring files (my Steam folder took a bit), but overall I'm thrilled with the speed and I haven't even played a game yet. I think the SSD and 8.1 are doing the trick thus far.

Here's how it turned out. Still need to do a little more with my cable management. I'll to that once I uninstall the old PC HDD.


Traffic Baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 09:56 AM   #1257
Neek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3400
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Vehicle:
2016 Red Pirate Cat
1981 CJ-7

Default

Looks great! Time the startup from totally off to working desktop. I get about 7 seconds now...crazy.
Neek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 09:59 AM   #1258
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
18 Outback
on the road....

Default

C70 case?

Looks good, enjoy!
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 10:32 AM   #1259
Traffic Baron
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316645
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Colchester, CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Hatch WRB
'17 RWD Malibu

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neek View Post
Looks great! Time the startup from totally off to working desktop. I get about 7 seconds now...crazy.
Thanks and 7 seconds is about it! My old machine from Hibernate didn't turn on this quick. I can't wait to really uncork it

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcblues View Post
C70 case?

Looks good, enjoy!
Thank you and indeed it is! I like the rugged look, but the white makes it just a little more sleek, IMO. However, the lexan might need to go. The built in fan grill kills the view and stratifies the light, plus it's tinted far too dark. It seems to be a popular mod to replace the lexan with straight clear and shouldn't be too difficult, nor expensive.
Traffic Baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 10:46 AM   #1260
sebtarta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82883
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 3rd Planet
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i Wagon 220k
'72 LSx Nova Turns&Stops

Default

I have 2 Noctua NF-F12 iPPC-3000 for sale at $20 each (basically new), PM if you want them.
sebtarta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 11:26 AM   #1261
xgfjfyj
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 408131
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default

.....
xgfjfyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 08:28 PM   #1262
96accord
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 145105
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middle River, Maryland
Vehicle:
2015 Honda Accord

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebtarta View Post
I have 2 Noctua NF-F12 iPPC-3000 for sale at $20 each (basically new), PM if you want them.
Sending you a PM.
96accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 09:34 PM   #1263
Jaren1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 195061
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Cool story, Brogue
Vehicle:
1997 \_(ツ)
Green

Default

I nearly bought the C70, until I stumbled upon the R4. First thing I was gonna do was replace the lean with the fan grills with a clean piece or some glass.
Jaren1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 09:56 PM   #1264
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
18 Outback
on the road....

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaren1 View Post
I nearly bought the C70, until I stumbled upon the R4. First thing I was gonna do was replace the lean with the fan grills with a clean piece or some glass.
Yeah, I thought about the army green one to use on my reloading bench. Too big though.
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:20 AM   #1265
end0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 224418
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal - RSM
Default

Anyone want to buy a apple G5 case. I have one I'm about to list on /r/hardwareswap
end0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 08:24 AM   #1266
Traffic Baron
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316645
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Colchester, CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Hatch WRB
'17 RWD Malibu

Default

I did like the R4 for its simplicity, but in the end I like something a little flashier. The C70 in white was the ticket for me. I was a fan of the green, but I felt it would have been hard to match any kind of color theme to it outside of black.

But the meshed lexan has to go.
Traffic Baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 02:59 AM   #1267
042
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332955
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WA
Vehicle:
1994 Accord 5MT

Default

What brand of 970 have you guys gone with? I've pretty much made up my mind to dump the 290 in favor of a 970 since I acquired some Amazon gift cards. The 980 doesn't really seem worth it price/performance gain wise, and 780tis are going for more than 970s but benching lower.

The EVGA ACX2.0 SC is tempting, and IMO looks the best, but it's about $70 more than the Gigabyte G1 model which seems to perform and cool very well, and aesthetics are not a huge concern. Apparently EVGA also dropped the ball on the ACX1.0 heat pipe design, but that has allegedly been fixed in the 2.0 model.

Thoughts? I'm leaning towards the Gigabyte at $360.
042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 07:21 AM   #1268
96accord
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 145105
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Middle River, Maryland
Vehicle:
2015 Honda Accord

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 042 View Post
What brand of 970 have you guys gone with? I've pretty much made up my mind to dump the 290 in favor of a 970 since I acquired some Amazon gift cards. The 980 doesn't really seem worth it price/performance gain wise, and 780tis are going for more than 970s but benching lower.

The EVGA ACX2.0 SC is tempting, and IMO looks the best, but it's about $70 more than the Gigabyte G1 model which seems to perform and cool very well, and aesthetics are not a huge concern. Apparently EVGA also dropped the ball on the ACX1.0 heat pipe design, but that has allegedly been fixed in the 2.0 model.

Thoughts? I'm leaning towards the Gigabyte at $360.
I'm not following where you say the EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX2.0 is $70 more than Gigabyte. See below

EVGA -> $350

Gigabyte -> $360

They both have 4/5 rating on Newegg with about the same amount of reviews.
96accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 07:34 AM   #1269
Traffic Baron
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316645
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Colchester, CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Hatch WRB
'17 RWD Malibu

Default

I have the EVGA SC ACX 2.0 that is listed http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NVODXR4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1. Now, I've only had it running for a few days, but I've had two issues I'm trying to figure out that seem to look unrelated to EVGA:
-Coil whine EDIT: I can't pick it up anymore. It's either not there, or very faint/different frequency.
-Crashing during the 3DMark "skydiver" test.

Both seem to be somewhat common with 970s. It seems that a lot of people are having their 970s crash at the same point during the "Skydiver" demo (soon after she enters the pyramid), however, I scored well in "Firestrike" and had no issues running it. I'm chalking this up to a non-issue since, so far, game performance has been fine.

The Coil whine has improved. It was really strong in the beginning when I first tested SR4 and began using 3DMark to benchmark. However, as I tried to diagnose my "Skydiver" issue, the coil whine began to reduce. I played Skyrim for 2.5hrs last night without any noticeable whine. I did notice some whine with a quick SR4 test and during "Firestrike" in 3DMark, but not much at all.

With that said, I had both games set on ultra settings. Skyrim was pegged at the cap of 60fps and SR4 never dipped below 62. I'm happy. I'm hoping to get the chance this week to try out Far Cry 4 for a true test, but I can't promise.

Last edited by Traffic Baron; 12-15-2014 at 07:24 AM. Reason: experience changed
Traffic Baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 05:04 PM   #1270
Christoff
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22758
Join Date: Aug 2002
Default

What's the best free/cheap online fax service for my technologically inept mom to send faxes?

Last edited by Christoff; 12-10-2014 at 05:18 PM.
Christoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 06:04 PM   #1271
bpang1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67225
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Spokane, WA
Vehicle:
2015 Audi S4
Red

Default

I have the EVGA card mentioned above...no problems whatsoever.

I have been playing Titanfall, BF4, War Thunder and Dragon Age Inquisition with it just fine.
bpang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 08:01 PM   #1272
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
18 Outback
on the road....

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 042 View Post
What brand of 970 have you guys gone with? I've pretty much made up my mind to dump the 290 in favor of a 970 since I acquired some Amazon gift cards. The 980 doesn't really seem worth it price/performance gain wise, and 780tis are going for more than 970s but benching lower.

The EVGA ACX2.0 SC is tempting, and IMO looks the best, but it's about $70 more than the Gigabyte G1 model which seems to perform and cool very well, and aesthetics are not a huge concern. Apparently EVGA also dropped the ball on the ACX1.0 heat pipe design, but that has allegedly been fixed in the 2.0 model.

Thoughts? I'm leaning towards the Gigabyte at $360.
I have the EVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0. I have no coil whine at all. But I have had some stability problems, which I assume are driver related. I am in the process of sorting that out. Performance is really good though, better than I expected (except the stability issues, which may be another component - I am working through the possibilities). I paid $349 shipped from Newegg, not on sale.
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 10:16 PM   #1273
Jaren1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 195061
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Cool story, Brogue
Vehicle:
1997 \_(ツ)
Green

Default

Id opt for the EVGA since they have good support. Also I hear folding helps loads with reducing coil whine. I have an EVGA 980 and its perfect, no noise or instability. Hitting 1550Mhz with reference Nvidia Cooler.
Jaren1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:02 AM   #1274
Traffic Baron
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316645
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Colchester, CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Hatch WRB
'17 RWD Malibu

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Traffic Baron View Post
I have the EVGA SC ACX 2.0 that is listed here. Now, I've only had it running for a few days, but I've had two issues I'm trying to figure out that seem to look unrelated to EVGA:
-Coil whine
-Crashing during the 3DMark "skydiver" test.

Both seem to be somewhat common with 970s. It seems that a lot of people are having their 970s crash at the same point during the "Skydiver" demo (soon after she enters the pyramid), however, I scored well in "Firestrike" and had no issues running it. I'm chalking this up to a non-issue since, so far, game performance has been fine.

The Coil whine has improved. It was really strong in the beginning when I first tested SR4 and began using 3DMark to benchmark. However, as I tried to diagnose my "Skydiver" issue, the coil whine began to reduce. I played Skyrim for 2.5hrs last night without any noticeable whine. I did notice some whine with a quick SR4 test and during "Firestrike" in 3DMark, but not much at all.

With that said, I had both games set on ultra settings. Skyrim was pegged at the cap of 60fps and SR4 never dipped below 62. I'm happy. I'm hoping to get the chance this week to try out Far Cry 4 for a true test, but I can't promise.
I tried out FC4 last night. I only mad it through the Prologue, but I had very little coil whine. I ran on ultra and pegged the 60 fps cap (although my res was off, as the native res didn't work well at all for some reason). I then played another 2 hours of Skyrim and didn't have any whine. So it seems to be improving and it looks like I'll be keeping the card. This thing is a beast.
Traffic Baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 08:37 AM   #1275
NOTinASubaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 295494
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Ma
Vehicle:
1996 4runner miata

Default

Still haven't figured out how to set audio output to "bitstream", PCM for me it is
NOTinASubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.