Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 22, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2019, 01:08 PM   #10001
Reflex-Arc
Lord of the Gif
 
Member#: 1703
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: one frame at a time
Vehicle:
2013 Fiat 500 Abarth
Bianco

Default

Have you pulled the AVR out of the equation and gone source direct to confirm it's the cable?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reflex-Arc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-29-2019, 01:09 PM   #10002
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ForceFed4 View Post
Probably cheaper and a lot less trouble to just replace the suspect cables. If you want to be really sure, get the Monoprice slim Certified Premium dealies:

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=24187

Cable price is irrelevant. That certification with the holographic tag is not, and is a real industry standard that is proof the cables are up to full 4K HDR bandwidth. I've also had good luck with the Amazon Basics High Speed HDMI cables though they are technically not certified premium:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014I8SSD0/
btw, the "Certified Premium" process doesn't certify anything over 7.5M
Akirasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 01:10 PM   #10003
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex-Arc View Post
Have you pulled the AVR out of the equation and gone source direct to confirm it's the cable?
Yes, and things work more consistently when going direct hence why I think the AVR is introducing just enough signal loss to make things fail.

Anthem themselves are unwilling to admit anything is wrong with the AVR and just blame the cables.
Akirasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 01:20 PM   #10004
Reflex-Arc
Lord of the Gif
 
Member#: 1703
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: one frame at a time
Vehicle:
2013 Fiat 500 Abarth
Bianco

Default

I'm guessing you've also tried running the same length of cable outside of the conduit to rule that out?
Reflex-Arc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 01:41 PM   #10005
ForceFed4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7370
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: An arsenal of profanity...
Vehicle:
2013 5.0
SGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akirasoft View Post
btw, the "Certified Premium" process doesn't certify anything over 7.5M
My bad, I completely missed that your run is 20+ feet through conduit. In that case, I don't have many suggestions outside of what you're already trying.
ForceFed4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 02:36 PM   #10006
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex-Arc View Post
I'm guessing you've also tried running the same length of cable outside of the conduit to rule that out?
in the beginning, no, because I had bought into the statements that cable was cable. After learning that cable isn't cable, I had to go through 4 more cables before finding one that would work at all (i.e. even transmit a signal). The current cable I'm using worked before I ran it through the conduit however I did not run it for days. The problem is intermittent (which is AWESOME for troubleshooting.)

One of the reasons why I'd like to have access to a cable tester is that they actually pump varying capacities of data through a cable and let you know if it fails at a certain data rate. The tester is too expensive to buy for a one time use though (like $350-500)
Akirasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 02:40 PM   #10007
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

I should mention that the cable run length is totally my fault as I actually installed the conduit. I could have probably came up with routing for it that was a bit shorter but I wanted to keep the bends nice and easy to make installation easier. I also would have used different conduit (I used the carlon flexible raceway stuff and all the ridges inside make it a pain in the ass.)

The TV is only 8 feet away from the AV rack but because of the routing through the walls and behind the fireplace it ends up being longer.
Akirasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 02:41 PM   #10008
thechickencow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16840
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
17 4Runner

Default

This is a crazy idea but what would stop you from cutting a HDMI cable and splicing in better wires for the length?
thechickencow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 02:42 PM   #10009
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
13' BMW X3 35i

Default

It does sound like an interference/handshake issue .

I have a 50ft run of this monoprice lux cable https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_...SABEgJqWPD_BwE.

I picked it up when I ran the wiring for my 1080p TV. I was dreading upgrading to 4k because I wasn't sure it would handle it as I would sometimes get a "no signal" message from the TV but figured it was more the receiver (old Onkyo sr606).

When I upgraded to my Denon x3500h there were pretty much no signal loss messages. And when I upgraded to my 4k TV it passes it along fine.

I would trouble shoot as mentioned above without the receiver and then without the conduit if needed . I'm thinking it's the receiver, have you checked to see if you need to set the output to anything special for 4k HDR? I'm pretty sure there was a setting in my Denon for that.
ptirmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 02:56 PM   #10010
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptirmal View Post
It does sound like an interference/handshake issue .

I have a 50ft run of this monoprice lux cable https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_...SABEgJqWPD_BwE.

I picked it up when I ran the wiring for my 1080p TV. I was dreading upgrading to 4k because I wasn't sure it would handle it as I would sometimes get a "no signal" message from the TV but figured it was more the receiver (old Onkyo sr606).

When I upgraded to my Denon x3500h there were pretty much no signal loss messages. And when I upgraded to my 4k TV it passes it along fine.

I would trouble shoot as mentioned above without the receiver and then without the conduit if needed . I'm thinking it's the receiver, have you checked to see if you need to set the output to anything special for 4k HDR? I'm pretty sure there was a setting in my Denon for that.
I ran through the gamut with Anthem support and they were emphatic that it was a cable issue. The Anthem by design doesn't touch the video passing through it. That being said there can be signal loss anytime you have a connector involved, if the signal is barely within spec to begin with adding two connectors (in + out) via the AVR could be the straw that broke the camel's back.
Akirasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 04:42 PM   #10011
thechickencow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16840
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
17 4Runner

Default The Home Audio/Video Thread



Any idea what these might be for? Moving in a new house, all the 7-speaker is wired (different wired than this), these come out of a wall but I canít figure out where they lead to.

Hereís the room as it sits right now:

thechickencow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 05:56 PM   #10012
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2014 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

speakers elsewhere in the house or outside.
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 06:13 PM   #10013
shikataganai
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 92634
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PARANOID56 View Post
speakers elsewhere in the house or outside.


Hook up a receiver to those channels and play something, see from whence the noise emanates.
shikataganai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 05:57 AM   #10014
vapore0n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21356
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Can't catch me!
Vehicle:
2017 Subaru Corolla
STI Limited SE-R Type (R)

Default

are those power cables?
are the ends crushed or melted?

If they are speakers, be sure to know what they are connected too.
It appears that multiple speakers are connected to the same channel, thus this could fry your amp due to the current draw
vapore0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 09:56 AM   #10015
thechickencow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16840
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
17 4Runner

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shikataganai View Post
Hook up a receiver to those channels and play something, see from whence the noise emanates.


I have to look around but the only other speakers I see in the house is the upstairs built in 5.1 setup and that has its own wires. Hmmm...
thechickencow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 11:44 AM   #10016
NutBucket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90804
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SFV
Vehicle:
2021 Ascent
2012 Accord

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vapore0n View Post
are those power cables?
are the ends crushed or melted?

If they are speakers, be sure to know what they are connected too.
It appears that multiple speakers are connected to the same channel, thus this could fry your amp due to the current draw
I'm going with crushed. Low impedance isn't an issue as long as you're not pushing the amp hard.
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 12:26 PM   #10017
97OBLimited
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 224432
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Vehicle:
1997 Outback Limited
2012 DGM Impreza Hatch

Default

Quick subwoofer question: when tuning a sub, do you make adjustments at the plate Amp of the sub or through the receiver? Max one and use the other as adjustment or what? It sounds good but I feel like it could sound better.
97OBLimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 02:13 PM   #10018
thechickencow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16840
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
17 4Runner

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NutBucket View Post
I'm going with crushed. Low impedance isn't an issue as long as you're not pushing the amp hard.


They are just crushed.
thechickencow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:52 PM   #10019
thechickencow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16840
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
17 4Runner

Default

Pretty excited about this setup here. Sounds pretty good other than the front sound being above the TV a bit. Doesnít seem to be a big issue.

The TV is a 65Ē Samsung from a couple years ago, I think itíll work now but I do think Iíll upgrade the receiver (itís a 18yo Yamaha which has served me well but itís time).

Hooked up my gaming PC which is more of a plex server lately anyway and I think thatíll do the trick for streaming football this fall.

I need a decent wireless mouse/keyboard and eventually Iíd like to upgrade my sub setup once everything else is set.
thechickencow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 08:44 PM   #10020
shikataganai
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 92634
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Default

Instead of wireless I went with a powered 30 foot USB extension cable run by the wall behind one couch, and then a USB hub for a standard wired USB mouse and keyboard to use on the couch on a lapdesk thing.
shikataganai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 12:38 AM   #10021
thechickencow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16840
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
17 4Runner

Default

Ordered a Yamaha rx-v685 tonight, was cheap on Slickdeals. Will be nice to have HDMI switching and a working volume knob.

Old Yamaha will be the new garage receiver I think.
thechickencow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 07:10 AM   #10022
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
13' BMW X3 35i

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shikataganai View Post
Instead of wireless I went with a powered 30 foot USB extension cable run by the wall behind one couch, and then a USB hub for a standard wired USB mouse and keyboard to use on the couch on a lapdesk thing.
It's 2019, wireless peripherals are the way to go.
ptirmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:46 PM   #10023
shikataganai
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 92634
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptirmal View Post
It's 2019, wireless peripherals are the way to go.

Why? I never will have to change a battery in my setup.
shikataganai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:50 PM   #10024
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
13' BMW X3 35i

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shikataganai View Post
Why? I never will have to change a battery in my setup.
Looks ghetto having wires dangling across your room, I couldn't live with myself. Also, tripping hazard, occasional tugging feel etc.
ptirmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:53 PM   #10025
shikataganai
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 92634
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptirmal View Post
Looks ghetto having wires dangling across your room, I couldn't live with myself. Also, tripping hazard, occasional tugging feel etc.

Wires are all behind a couch that sits 90 degrees from the TV (and which is apparently a permanent storage area for hundreds of stuffed animals now). Nothing is visible save for the cables immediately attached to the keyboard and mouse themselves, and thatís just not that big of a deal, IMO.
shikataganai is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The official Post pics of your Home Audio/Video setup? V2.0 GRUMPY514 Off-Topic 74 07-30-2008 09:50 AM
VA: Home Audio/Video/Game AspenWhite Non-Subaru Stuff 5 03-06-2007 09:43 AM
WRX parts, home Audio/Video stuff, and more... NicFunkadelic NESIC Private Classifieds 6 02-15-2007 10:38 AM
Home audio/video wiring gurus, need a bit of help. trail*of*dead Off-Topic 16 12-23-2006 02:25 AM
Home audio/video goodies for sale! Tivo! Replay! Pronto! BiggSean Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 7 02-26-2006 11:15 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.